Join us! Member Area


ECTA is a corporate body limited by guarantee, registered in England and organised under English Law. This choice of domicile and structure does not affect in any way its unbiased standing and Community based character, but was necessitated by the absence of any Community Law for the creation of such an organization at the date of its formation.

The conduct of all members is governed by the provisions of the ECTA Code of Conduct and Disciplinary Provisions.

ECTA is governed by the Council consisting of 62 members, assisted by Committees. The neutrality of the Association is guaranteed by its Articles of Association which provide that the Council shall reflect the European Union principle, each Member State being represented on the following basis:

France, Germany, Italy, United Kingdom: 4 seats; Poland, Spain: 3 seats; Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Lithuania, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Sweden: 2 seats; Cyprus, Estonia, Latvia, Luxembourg, Malta, Slovenia: 1 seat

Candidates for the Council are proposed nationally by members of the Association resident in each State in question and are elected by all ECTA members from all member states.

The object and effect of this structure is to give the activities of ECTA an independent and  supranational character within the European Union, excluding any possible national dominance. This is reinforced by the principle that the President and Vice Presidents of the Association must each be of a differing nationality.